Hi Guest!
Contribute to this record

Eliza Cole

Eliza Cole, one of 191 convicts transported on the Emma Eugenia, 16 November 1841

Name, Aliases & Gender

Name: Eliza Cole
Aliases: none
Gender: f

Birth, Occupation & Death

Date of Birth: 1814
Occupation: Needlewoman
Date of Death: -
Age: -

Life Span

Life span

Female median life span was 60 years*

* Median life span based on contributions

Conviction & Transportation

Sentence Severity

Sentence Severity

Sentenced to 7 years

Crime: Theft~simple larceny
Convicted at: Central Criminal Court
Sentence term: 7 years
Ship: Emma Eugenia
Departure date: 16th November, 1841
Arrival date: 9th April, 1842
Place of arrival Van Diemen's Land
Passenger manifest Travelled with 190 other convicts

References

Primary source: Australian Joint Copying Project. Microfilm Roll 91, Class and Piece Number HO11/12, Page Number 397 (200)
Source description: This record is one of the entries in the British convict transportation registers 1787-1867 database compiled by State Library of Queensland from British Home Office (HO) records which are available on microfilm as part of the Australian Joint Copying Project.

Did you find the person you were looking for?

If Eliza Cole was the person you were looking for, you may be able to discover more about them by looking at our resources page.

If you have more hunting to do, try a new search or browse the convict records.

Know more about Eliza Cole?

Contribute to this record

Community Contributions

D Wong on 14th February, 2019 wrote:

Old Bailey:
ELIZA COLE.
Theft: simple larceny.
14th June 1841
Verdict Guilty > unknown
Sentence Transportation

ELIZA COLE was indicted for stealing, on the 29th of May, I purse, value 3d.; 2 sovereigns, 1 half-sovereigns, 2 half-crowns, 3 shillings, and 3d.; the property of Edward Bond.

EDWARD BOND. I am a labouring man. On the 29th of May I met the prisoner in company with her sister and another woman, who was a friend of hers—I had not known her before—I went and slept with her at Westminster—I do not know the name of the place—we went to bed—I put my money into my trowsers’ pocket, under my head—I had these two sovereigns and other money—I awoke about half an hour after I had been there, between eleven and twelve o’clock—I saw her with the trowsers, and when I awoke, she threw the trowsers into the room, and away she went, and left part of her clothes in the room—I found the money was gone—the next day I met her and her sister, and a man—I asked her for the money which she had the night before—she said she had no money, she gave what money she had to her sister, and she gave it to the man, who ran away—her sister struck me two or three times.

ANN JAMESON. I keep a shop. The prisoner came there on the Saturday—she bought a muslin dress of me, which came to 5s. (id.—she gave me a sovereign—I gave her change.

GEORGE CARTER (police-constable B 151.) About seven o’clock in the evening of the 29th of May, I found the prisoner in the custody of Bond—I took her to the station—she told me she passed the money to a woman, and then to a man—I went into the next house, and found a man—he said he had no money—I searched him, and found 22s. on him—I searched him afterwards, and found 14s. 6d. on him—I searched the prisoner’s lodging, and found this muslin dress—I asked whose it was—she said, one she had washed and ironed for her mother.

Prisoner’s Defence. I had not touched this man’s money—the sovereign I changed for the dress was not his, it was lent me—I know nothing at all about it.
GUILTY. Aged 27.— Transported for Seven Years.

Eliza Cole sent a petition to her Majesty for mitigation of her sentence - it was stated that she was the daughter in law of Henry Seymour - but listed as single on entry to VDL.

Eliza Cole was 27 years old on arrival.
Native Place: Blackwell, Somerset.

Eliza was 5’3” tall, fresh complexion, brown hair, hazel eyes, single, literate.

20/1/1845: TOL
22/9/1846: Recommended for a CP
3/2/1852: CP

1846: Permission to marry William Baxter (Lord Lyndoch) - approved - no marriage listed.

Convict Changes History

D Wong on 14th February, 2019 made the following changes:

date of birth: 1814 (prev. 0000), gender: f, occupation, crime

This record was discovered and printed on ConvictRecords.com.au