Hi Guest!
Contribute to this record

Charles Flaxman

Charles Flaxman, one of 230 convicts transported on the Mount Stuart Elphinstone [Mount Stewart Elphinstone], 01 June 1849

Name, Aliases & Gender

Name: Charles Flaxman
Aliases: none
Gender: m

Birth, Occupation & Death

Date of Birth: 1830
Occupation: Labourer
Date of Death: 9th December, 1854
Age: 24 years

Life Span

Life span

Male median life span was 54 years*

* Median life span based on contributions

Conviction & Transportation

Sentence Severity

Sentence Severity

Sentenced to 7 years

Crime: Housebreaking
Convicted at: Central Criminal Court
Sentence term: 7 years
Ship: Mount Stuart Elphinstone
Departure date: 1st June, 1849
Arrival date: 1st November, 1849
Place of arrival Moreton Bay
Passenger manifest Travelled with 229 other convicts

References

Primary source: Australian Joint Copying Project. Microfilm Roll 92, Class and Piece Number HO11/16, Page Number 63 (33)
Source description: This record is one of the entries in the British convict transportation registers 1787-1867 database compiled by State Library of Queensland from British Home Office (HO) records which are available on microfilm as part of the Australian Joint Copying Project.

Did you find the person you were looking for?

If Charles Flaxman was the person you were looking for, you may be able to discover more about them by looking at our resources page.

If you have more hunting to do, try a new search or browse the convict records.

Know more about Charles Flaxman?

Contribute to this record

Community Contributions

D Wong on 29th June, 2018 wrote:

Old bailey:
CHARLES FLAXMAN.
Theft: housebreaking.
1st February 1847
Verdict Guilty > with recommendation
Sentence Transportation
CHARLES FLAXMAN was indicted for feloniously breaking and entering the dwelling-house of John Vickers, on the 15th of Jan., at St. John the Evangelist, Westminster, and stealing therein 1 punch-ladle, value 30s.; 2 snuff-boxes, 16s.; 7 spoons, 1l.; pencil-case, 4s.; 1 pair of earrings, 5s.; 3 rings, 15s.; 1 set of buttons, 14s.; 2 seals, 6s.; 2 keys, 3s.; a part of a seal, 1s.; 5 watches, 2l. 15s.; and 2 buckles, 3l. 10s.; his goods.

JOHN JAMES DURRANT I am in the employment of John Colthard, a pawnbroker of the London-road. On Saturday, the 16th of Jan., about five o’clock in the evening, the prisoner came into my master’s shop—I am certain it was him—he offered to pledge this watch and appendages—I suspected it did not belong to him—he said his name was Charles Jones, of No. 8, Webber-street, and he was sent by his father to pawn it—I offered to go there with him—he did not object—we wemt out—when we got to the Victoria theatre, he made a remark about the theatre, and I immediately missed him; and on looking round, saw him running up Oakley-street—I followed him down two or three streets into the Waterloo-road again, and saw him stopped—when I got up this box was given to me, in his presence, by a man who had hold of him—the man said, “He gave me this snuff-box to let him go”—the prisoner said, “I did not give it you to let me go, I merely had it in my hand—I took him back to the shop—he then said he had been sent by a man, who was waiting opposite the theater, to pawn the watch, and after he had pawned that he was pawn the box, and say he brought it from his father, and he was to have 1s. for his trouble—he said he saw the man run away as saw left the shop together.

JOHN VICKERS. I am a cow-keeper, and live in the Horse Ferry-road, Westminster—it is my own house, I live in it—it is in the parish of St. John the Evangelist, Westminster. On Friday, the 15th of Jan., about half-past six in the evening, I was in my cow-yard, and observed the casement window open—I had seen it shut close down before—I went into the room, and missed five watches, a silver punch-ladle, and a small wooden snuff-box, which has been produced—I am certain they were in the room two evening before—I kept them in a box—I had seen the window shut about half-past five o’clock, and found it open at ten minutes after six—the door was locked, and so it was when I entered the room—the window opens into the Horse ferry-road, and is about four and a half feet from the ground—it was not fastened—this watch is my property.

MATTHEW MANCHESTER. I know Mr. Watson’s, the Ship, Horse Ferry-road—on Friday, the 15th of Jan., about six o’clock in the evening, I saw the prisoner with two other standing outside a door, about twenty yards from the prosecutor’s—I heard of the robbery soon after—I am certain it was the prisoner—I had seen him standing about the corner.

Cross-examined by MR. BALLANTINE. Q. Did you know him before? A. Yes—I did not know his name, or where he lived—I knew the other boys, and their names, because they lived close by—I saw the prisoner again when he was in custody at Lambeth-street Police-court—nobody showed him to me—the policeman told me he was in custody—he asked me whether I could recognize the party—he did not say anything else—I gave him a description of him—I said he was rather stouter then me, and had fustian trowsers, that he had a cap with no peak, and rather a red face—I did not mention the colour of his hair—it is brown—I said he had rather a reflection in his eye.

COURT. Q. Are you quite sure he is the boy? A. Yes—the policeman did not describe him.

JOHN MASON (policeman 134l.) On the 16th Jan., between five and six o’clock in the evening, the prisoner was given in my custody—he said a respectable man gave him the watch to pawn, and told him he would give him 1s., and he was to say it was his father’s of No. 18, Webber-street—I took him to the station-house, locked him up, went to Webber-street and made inquiry, nothing was known respecting the watch—I afterwards went to Westminster, and found the prosecutor—he went with me to the pawnbroker’s and identified the watch.

Cross-examined. Q. Look at the prisoner, is not he a palish-faced boy? A. Not altogether so pale as some people.

Q. Did Matthews tell you he was rather pale? A. Something to that effect. (The prisoner received a good character.)

GUILTY. Aged 17.—Recommended to mercy. — Transported for seven Years.

9/12/1854: Burial date for Charles Flaxman - QLD BDM.  No marriage or children found.

Convict Changes History

D Wong on 29th June, 2018 made the following changes:

date of birth: 1830 (prev. 0000), date of death: 9th December, 1854 (prev. 0000), gender: m, occupation, crime

This record was discovered and printed on ConvictRecords.com.au