Hi Guest!
Contribute to this record

Charles Plunkett

Charles Plunkett, one of 500 convicts transported on the Anson, 23 September 1843

Name, Aliases & Gender

Name: Charles Plunkett
Aliases: none
Gender: m

Birth, Occupation & Death

Date of Birth: 1818
Occupation: Shoemaker
Date of Death: 1st April, 1876
Age: 58 years

Life Span

Life span

Male median life span was 61 years*

* Median life span based on contributions

Conviction & Transportation

Sentence Severity

Sentence Severity

Sentenced to 15 years

Crime: Stealing trousers
Convicted at: Stafford Quarter Sessions
Sentence term: 15 years
Ship: Anson
Departure date: 23rd September, 1843
Arrival date: 4th February, 1844
Place of arrival Van Diemen's Land
Passenger manifest Travelled with 498 other convicts

References

Primary source: Australian Joint Copying Project. Microfilm Roll 91, Class and Piece Number HO11/13, Page Number 466
Source description: This record is one of the entries in the British convict transportation registers 1787-1867 database compiled by State Library of Queensland from British Home Office (HO) records which are available on microfilm as part of the Australian Joint Copying Project.

Did you find the person you were looking for?

If Charles Plunkett was the person you were looking for, you may be able to discover more about them by looking at our resources page.

If you have more hunting to do, try a new search or browse the convict records.

Know more about Charles Plunkett?

Contribute to this record

Community Contributions

Betty on 6th August, 2013 wrote:

Charles was the son of Thomas Plunkett, Baker of Dudley St., Wolverhampton & the brother of a prominent Solicitor Henry in Oldbury & West Bromwich.
Charles died in General Hospital, Hobart & is buried in a pauper grave at Cornelian Bay. Cause of death Typhoid Fever

D Wong on 17th May, 2017 wrote:

12/4/1843 Wolverhampton Chronicle and Staffordshire Advertiser Staffordshire, England:
Charles Plunkett, for stealing pair of trousers, the property of Richard Roden, at Wolverhampton.

Birth dates of 1820 and 1818 listed.

Charles was listed as 23 years old on arrival - his birth place was Wolverhampton.

Prior convictions: for fighting 1 month; 1 month as disorderly apprentice; 1 month for throwing at a policeman; 3 months for house robbery.

Charles was 5’8 1/2” tall, fresh complexion, dark brown hair and eyes, tattoos, could read and write, protestant, single.

Occupations: Puddler/shoemaker “rough”/coach painter & varnisher.

2/6/1850: TOL
6/5/1858: Certificate, Hobart.

Convict Changes History

Betty on 6th August, 2013 made the following changes:

date of death 1876, gender, occupation, crime

D Wong on 17th May, 2017 made the following changes:

date of birth: 1818 (prev. 0000), date of death: 1st April, 1876 (prev. 1876)

This record was discovered and printed on ConvictRecords.com.au