Hi Guest!
Contribute to this record

Mary Clifton

Mary Clifton, one of 90 convicts transported on the Princess Charlotte, 27 March 1827

Name, Aliases & Gender

Name: Mary Clifton
Aliases: none
Gender: f

Birth, Occupation & Death

Date of Birth: 1781
Occupation: Needlewoman
Date of Death: -
Age: -

Life Span

Life span

Female median life span was 56 years*

* Median life span based on contributions

Conviction & Transportation

Sentence Severity

Sentence Severity

Sentenced to 7 years

Crime: Theft of household goods
Convicted at: London Gaol Delivery
Sentence term: 7 years
Ship: Princess Charlotte
Departure date: 27th March, 1827
Arrival date: 6th August, 1827
Place of arrival New South Wales
Passenger manifest Travelled with 89 other convicts

References

Primary source: Australian Joint Copying Project. Microfilm Roll 88, Class and Piece Number HO11/6, Page Number 135 (69)
Source description: This record is one of the entries in the British convict transportation registers 1787-1867 database compiled by State Library of Queensland from British Home Office (HO) records which are available on microfilm as part of the Australian Joint Copying Project.

Did you find the person you were looking for?

If Mary Clifton was the person you were looking for, you may be able to discover more about them by looking at our resources page.

If you have more hunting to do, try a new search or browse the convict records.

Know more about Mary Clifton?

Contribute to this record

Community Contributions

Tony Beale on 2nd October, 2021 wrote:

Old Bailey Online (DoB from here)

305. MARY CLIFTON was indicted for stealing, on the 6th of January , 1 pair of blankets, value 6s.; 1 pair of sheets, value 2s. 6d.; 1 knife, value 1d., and 1 glass, value 6d., the goods of Owen Kelly , in a lodging-room .

JOHANNA KELLY . I am the wife of Owen Kelly - we live in Holborn-place, in the parish of St. Andrew, Holborn . On the 3d of January, the prisoner took our second floor, front room, furnished, at 5s. a week - this property was let with the room. She said she had come from Brentford to receive a legacy. I went out about ten o’clock in the morning of the 6th of January - I returned about eleven, and found her in custody; I missed these articles - I never gave her leave to take them. I found this note in my table-drawer (note read).

MADAM, - I am sorry to say I have had a letter, and must go to Bath before I can get any money. I have no money left, and am forced to pawn your sheets and blankets to get money to go down - I did not like to ask you for money, or I would have done it before you went out. I will send you the tickets, and money to redeem them, and also my rent, on Saturday; and most heartily wish you health and happiness. M. CLIFTON .

THOMAS GREEN . I am a constable. The prisoner was given into my charge about a hundred and fifty yards from Kelly’s house - Kelly’s husband brought the blankets and sheets to me, and charged the prisoner with taking them, which she acknowledged, and said that she meant to pawn them and redeem them again, and that she had left a note to that effect.(Property produced and sworn to.)

Prisoner’s Defence. I was in distress - I intended going to Bath, and to send her the money to redeem them.

GUILTY . Aged 46.

Transported for Seven Years .

306. MARY CLIFTON was again indicted for stealing, on the 3d of January , 2 pillow-cases, value 4s., the goods of Catherine Birch , in a lodging-room .

CATHERINE BIRCH . I live in Acorn-court, Rolls-buildings - I do not know what parish it is in. I let the prisoner part of my room on the 23d of December; she had the use of these pillows with her bed; we both slept in one bed - she left on the 3d of January, while I was out, without giving me notice, or paying me: my pillows were gone, and this note left on the table.

This note was here read, and was to the same purport as the one produced in the last case.

THOMAS GREEN . I took the prisoner in charge, and found twenty-three duplicates on her, one of which is for these pillows - I do not know in what parish Birch lives.

JAMES PALMER . I am servant to Mr. Mulcaster, a pawnbroker; I have two pillows, which were pawned on the 3d of January by the prisoner.

NOT GUILTY .

Tony Beale on 2nd October, 2021 wrote:

New South Wales, Australia, Certificates of Freedom, 1810-1814, 1827-1867 (NRS 12210) Butts of Certificates of Freedom 1834 January 13. No 34/48

Convict Changes History

Tony Beale on 2nd October, 2021 made the following changes:

date of birth: 1781 (prev. 0000), gender: f, crime

Tony Beale on 2nd October, 2021 made the following changes:

occupation

This record was discovered and printed on ConvictRecords.com.au