Hi Guest!
Contribute to this record

Charles William Watts

Charles Willm. Watts, one of 164 convicts transported on the Morley, July 1818

Name, Aliases & Gender

Name: Charles William Watts
Aliases: none
Gender: m

Birth, Occupation & Death

Date of Birth: 1792
Occupation: Tailor
Date of Death: -
Age: -

Life Span

Life span

Male median life span was 54 years*

* Median life span based on contributions

Conviction & Transportation

Sentence Severity

Sentence Severity

Sentenced to 7 years

Crime: Burglary
Convicted at: Middlesex Gaol Delivery
Sentence term: 7 years
Ship: Morley
Departure date: July, 1818
Arrival date: 7th November, 1818
Place of arrival New South Wales
Passenger manifest Travelled with 164 other convicts

References

Primary source: Australian Joint Copying Project. Microfilm Roll 88, Class and Piece Number HO11/3, Page Number 63 (33)
Source description: This record is one of the entries in the British convict transportation registers 1787-1867 database compiled by State Library of Queensland from British Home Office (HO) records which are available on microfilm as part of the Australian Joint Copying Project.

Did you find the person you were looking for?

If Charles William Watts was the person you were looking for, you may be able to discover more about them by looking at our resources page.

If you have more hunting to do, try a new search or browse the convict records.

Know more about Charles William Watts?

Contribute to this record

Community Contributions

D Wong on 15th September, 2019 wrote:

Old Bailey:
CHARLES WILLIAM WATTS, WILLIAM MARTIN.
Theft: burglary.
29th October 1817
Verdict Guilty > lesser offence
Sentence Transportation
CHARLES WILLIAM WATTS and WILLIAM MARTIN were indicted for that they, about in the night of the 28th of September, being in the dwelling-house of John Allfor , did steal therein, two pillow-cases, value 1s., five prints, value 3s.; two sheets, value 12s.; and one waistcoat, value 5s., his property-and afterwards, about the same hour of the same night, burglariously did break the said dwelling-house to get out of the same.

SECOND COUNT. The same, only stating them to have been in a lodging-room.

ELIZA ALLFORD. I am the wife of John Allford, we live in Featherstone-street, City-road , and let lodgings. On the 27th of September, between five and six o’clock in the evening, the prisoners came to our house, asked if we did not let lodgings, and desired to look at them. I said, I did not like to shew them at night, but they might see them in the morning. Between twelve and one o’clock next day, Watts came, and I shewed them to him; he said they would do very well, and asked if they could come in that evening? We came down to my husband-the prisoner, Watts, said they were carpenters, and had got a job for four months, in the Curtain-road.
Court. Q. Was the lodging to be taken for the two - A. Yes, it was a joint taking. My husband said he was very particular who he let them to, and asked for a reference - He referred him to George-walk, Vauxhall. My husband said it was Saturday, and he could not go there that day. Watts said, he was going there on Sunday, and they could walk together. He said he would bring a chest of tools in, which would satisfy us for more than a week’s rent-my husband agreed to take them in. They came between eleven and twelve o’clock that night, I let them in - They had each a bundle; I gave them a light - They were to pay 5s. a week-my husband was not at home; the windows were all shut. About eight o’clock the next morning, my child was coming from over the way, saw the windows were open, and the curtains blowing about-my husband went up.

JOHN ALLFORD. I am the husband of the last witness. I saw the prisoner, Watts about the lodgings; he referred me to Vauxhall; we were to go there the next morning together - I agreed to let them. I came home about twelve o’clock, and fastened the door. The next morning I received information, went up stairs, and tapped at the door; no answer was made. I went in, found the window open, the prisoners gone, and the articles stated in the indictment - They never returned. I saw Martin at the watch-house at one o’clock that day. About three weeks after, Watts was taken.

GEORGE WILD I am a watchman in Baltic-street, in the parish of St. Sepulchre. On the 28th of September, about one o’clock in the morning, I heard the cry of Stop thief! about 150 yards from the prosecutor’s house, and stopped the prisoner, Martin, who was running; he had two sheets and a bed curtain, round his body, under his clothes.

JOHN USTONSON. When Wild brought Martin into the watch-house, I found two pillow-cases in his hat, and two pictures in his pocket.

WILLIAM TURNER. I am an officer. I received information, and went to a house in Water-lane, Fleet-street, to inquire for Watts, his sister was there, and denied him. I took a child off a turn-up bedstead in the room, and found him under it. I asked him why he went there? he said, he understood there was a warrant against him for bastardy. I found nothing upon him.

THOMAS VANN. I am a constable; I was with Turner.

(Property produced and sworn to.)

MARTIN’S Defence. The other man said the things were his.

WATTS - GUILTY. Aged 24.
MARTIN - GUILTY. Aged 28.
On the Second Count only.

Transported for Seven Years.

William Martin arrived NSW per ‘Isabella 1818’.

Charles William Watts was listed as 25 years old on arrival.

Native Place: London.

Charles was 5’5ΒΌ” tall, fresh complexion, black hair, dark eyes.

Colonial Secretary Index:
WATTS, Charles William. Per “Morley”, 1818

1818 Nov 17:  On list of convicts disembarked from the “Morley” and forwarded to Windsor for distribution (Reel 6006; 4/3499 p.148)

1824 Apr 22:  Of District of Windsor. Subpoenaed to attend the Court of Criminal Jurisdiction on behalf of the Crown in The King v Brown alias Thompson (Reel 6061; 4/1779 p.70)

7/8/1823: (Newspaper date) TOL, Windsor.

4/11/1824: COF
7/4/1825: COF renewed

Convict Changes History

D Wong on 15th September, 2019 made the following changes:

firstname: Charles William (prev. Charles Willm.), date of birth: 1792 (prev. 0000), gender: m, occupation, crime

This record was discovered and printed on ConvictRecords.com.au