Hi Guest!
Contribute to this record

James Williams

James Williams, one of 280 convicts transported on the Aboukir, 24 December 1851

Name, Aliases & Gender

Name: James Williams
Aliases: none
Gender: m

Birth, Occupation & Death

Date of Birth: 1828
Occupation: Sailor
Date of Death: -
Age: -

Life Span

Life span

Male median life span was 51 years*

* Median life span based on contributions

Conviction & Transportation

Sentence Severity

Sentence Severity

Sentenced to 10 years

Crime: Malicious wounding
Convicted at: Somerset Assizes at Wells
Sentence term: 10 years
Ship: Aboukir
Departure date: 24th December, 1851
Arrival date: 20th February, 1852
Place of arrival Van Diemen's Land and Norfolk Island. [These convicts appear to have all landed in Van Diemen's Land]
Passenger manifest Travelled with 279 other convicts


Primary source: Australian Joint Copying Project. Microfilm Roll 92, Class and Piece Number HO11/17, Page Number 311 (158)
Source description: This record is one of the entries in the British convict transportation registers 1787-1867 database compiled by State Library of Queensland from British Home Office (HO) records which are available on microfilm as part of the Australian Joint Copying Project.

Did you find the person you were looking for?

If James Williams was the person you were looking for, you may be able to discover more about them by looking at our resources page.

If you have more hunting to do, try a new search or browse the convict records.

Know more about James Williams?

Contribute to this record

Community Contributions

Rhonda Cole on 11th February, 2021 wrote:

Info from original UK Gaol record, now in Australia. Return is from Pentonville Prison, dated 2 Jan 1850 when age given as 21.
Tried with Thos. Matthews, same ship, qv, 4 Aug 1848,  “Sailor”.
Maliciously wounding with a stone.
Incarcerated Wilton County Gaol; Millbank; Pentonville; “York” [hulk] thence to VDL
Conduct Millbank, Pentonville, York hulk “good”.
“Once prevs imprisoned for drunkenness”.
Next of kin is given as “Jas Williams [presumably father?] Printer, 2 Wyld Court Wyld Street Drury Lane”.

Convict Changes History

Rhonda Cole on 11th February, 2021 made the following changes:

date of birth: 1828 (prev. 0000), gender: m, occupation, crime

This record was discovered and printed on ConvictRecords.com.au