Hi Guest!
Contribute to this record

John Thomas

John Thomas, one of 296 convicts transported on the Cressy, 28 April 1843

Name, Aliases & Gender

Name: John Thomas
Aliases: none
Gender: m

Birth, Occupation & Death

Date of Birth: 1821
Occupation: Labourer
Date of Death: -
Age: -

Life Span

Life span

Male median life span was 55 years*

* Median life span based on contributions

Conviction & Transportation

Sentence Severity

Sentence Severity

Sentenced to 7 years

Crime: Larceny
Convicted at: Bristol City and County Quarter Sessions
Sentence term: 7 years
Ship: Cressy
Departure date: 28th April, 1843
Arrival date: 28th August, 1843
Place of arrival Van Diemen's Land
Passenger manifest Travelled with 295 other convicts


Primary source: Australian Joint Copying Project. Microfilm Roll 91, Class and Piece Number HO11/13, Page Number 283 (143)
Source description: This record is one of the entries in the British convict transportation registers 1787-1867 database compiled by State Library of Queensland from British Home Office (HO) records which are available on microfilm as part of the Australian Joint Copying Project.

Did you find the person you were looking for?

If John Thomas was the person you were looking for, you may be able to discover more about them by looking at our resources page.

If you have more hunting to do, try a new search or browse the convict records.

Know more about John Thomas?

Contribute to this record

Community Contributions

D Wong on 23rd January, 2018 wrote:

16/4/1842 Bristol Times and Mirror Bristol, England:
Charles Warlock, Jeremiah Taylor, and John Thomas, were indicted for stealing a ham and two pieces of bacon, the property of William Whittread.

Jeremiah Taylor arrived per ‘Cressy 1843’ to VDL.  Charles Warlock/Worlock arrived per ‘Earl Grey’ 1843.

John Thomas was listed as 22 years old on arrival.  He was born in Bristol.

John was 5’6½” tall, fair complexion, brown hair, hazel eyes, J on inside of right arm, scar on each finger of right hand, 3 scars on right thumb, scar on left jaw, reads, single, protestant.

Mother: Sarah
Sister: Marian - at native place.

25/9/1849: Certificate.

27/10/1861: At Cascades.

Convict Changes History

D Wong on 23rd January, 2018 made the following changes:

date of birth: 1821 (prev. 0000), gender: m, occupation, crime

This record was discovered and printed on ConvictRecords.com.au